Seriously what did the Anzacs fight for?

I don’t know what the Anzacs fought for.

Look around you. Sometimes I get the feeling that many of us are taking our way of life for granted.

anzac7

This Anzac Day, I slept in 3 times through my alarm and missed dawn service. The alarm wasn’t set for dawn service. It was to make coffee with friends hours later. And I couldn’t even do be bothered to make that.

Man sleeping, wearing eye mask   Original Filename: 200026281-002.jpg

There’s no doubt in my mind this is the most important day in our national calendar. I also have 100% convinced I’ll do very little about it. I’m part of a spoiled, ungrateful generation. But at least I’m realising it. Step 1 to recovery.

What am I asking for? Military service. Not for ‘young people‘ and not for those who’ve stolen a car and ‘need to shape up‘. I’m asking for it for me, save me from myself. Save those people sitting in cafes complaining about cancelled concert tickets, bad coffees or how hard bootcamp was yesterday. Save the women who ‘can’t believe what Jen said to them last night‘. Save the men are matching their scarves to their satchels. What have we become?

anzac2

Our priorities are entirely wrong and Simpson would make his donkey kick us if he was still around, and well he should. But we need help to get right. We won’t do it by choice.I’ll never stand up to fight for my country unless it’s after 11am and they change their haircut policy.

That’s why am pleading with Australian’s to make me and all those all tight pants people out there complaining about ‘how taking public transport is so hard in Sydney’ , do something to serve. In the army, in a hospital or as a scarecrow in a community garden.

anzac5

We won’t choose it ourselves, so make us appreciate all those who served, and continue to serve their country. Make us experience the gunships, the hardship and the mateship all those great Australian’s fought through, and fought for. If you don’t we’ll never appreciate The Anzacs.

Unless a underground band takes the same name.

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

Soldier

Leave a Reply

